Imperial Valley College Academic Senate

Minutes

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Board Room

A. Call to Order by the President: 12:57 pm

Roll call by Secretary

Present: Mary Lofgren (Senate President), Melani Guinn, Julie Craven, Frank Hoppe (Secretary), Jeff Burt, Austen Thelen, Jia Sun, Kathy Rodriguez, Roberta Webster (Vice President), Jose Plascencia, Michael Capeci, Joe Henderson, Ed Wells, Ric Epps, Stella Orfanos-Woo, Jesus Esqueda, Cathy Zazueta, Elizabeth Treviño, Diane Harris, Kristen Gomez, Michael Heumann (Past President), and Martha Garcia (Vice President of Student Services).

Absent: Jose Velasquez, Dolores Diaz, and Karla Espejo (ASG President).

Excused: Xochitl Tirado, Cuauhtémoc Carboni, and Zhong Hu.

Visitors: Victor Torres, Tina Aguirre, Elizabeth Kemp, Mary-Jo Wainwright, Betsy Lane, James Patterson, Victor Jaime, Lennor Johnson, Steve Holt, David Zielinski, Melody Chronister, Cynthia Spence, Allyn Leon, Audrey Morris. Daniel Ortiz, and Efrain Silva.

B. Visitor's Comments

C. Consent Agenda

- 1. Academic Senate Minutes 2018-05-16
- 2. Curriculum Committee Minutes 2018-05-03
- 3. Curriculum Committee Recommendations to President 2018-05-03 and 2018-05-17
- 4. Curriculum Committee Recommendations to the Board 2018-05-17 (*MSC: Treviño/Epps*) passed
- 5. DE Faculty Handbook [postponed to 8/15/18 meeting.]

D. President's Report – Mary Lofgren

- 1. Rafael Santos Award presentations to Elizabeth Kemp & Steve Holt.
- Election of Curriculum Committee Chairman Allyn Leon (MSC: Gomez/Thelen) passed
- 3. Election Announcement The three at-large senators are Gilbert Campos, Jesus Esqueda, and Veronica Soto.

E. Treasurer's Report – Jeff Burt

Currently we have a balance of \$429.75.

F. Action Items

 Outcomes and Assessment Committee Resolution 2nd Reading – Dr. Patterson (MSC: Burt/Hu) passed 2. Basic Skills Committee Resolution 2nd Reading – Audrey Morris (*MSC: Hu/Burt*) failed

Ayes	Nays	Abstentions
Allyn Leon	Frank Hoppe	Melanie Guinn
(for Zhong Hu)	Diane Harris	Roberta Webster
Jeff Burt	Jose Plascencia	Michael Capeci
Cathy Zazueta	Jesus Esqueda	(Kathy Rodriguez)
	Stella Orfanos-Woo	(Ed Wells)
	Austen Thelen	
	Jia Sun	
	Joe Henderson	
	Elizabeth Treviño	
	Kristen Gomez	
	Ric Epps	

G. Discussion Items

H. Reports

- 1. CART none
- 2. SLO none
- 3. DE none
- 4. Equivalency none
- 5. BFPC none
- 6. ISSC none

I. For the Good of the Order

J. Adjournment

Adjourned 1:50 PM.

Next meeting will be Wednesday 15 Aug. 2018 from 2:30 – 4:00pm.

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the IVC Academic Senate record the votes of all committee members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.